top of page

Deadpool Calls Out LEGO And YouTube

I made a series of videos that had the Deadpool minifigure call out LEGO and YouTube for their business decisions that I felt ignored the fans and focused on the money.

I used Deadpool for 2 reasons. The first was that I needed to make these videos fast, so I used footage I had recently shot for a Deadpool Twas the night before Christmas video. The second reason was because Deadpool is the perfect character for this type of video. He breaks the fourth wall and has no social inhibitions when it comes to speaking his mind.


Deadpool Warns LEGO About Respecting Their Fans

This was the first of the Deadpool series. It was a long time coming. I had been seeing LEGO find ways to nickle and dime their customers for about a year. I do respect LEGO and their customer support, but they have run into a trap of their own making. LEGO was developed to be a child’s toy. However, the creative building has allowed LEGO fans to build from childhood into adulthood. There are respectable artist who make a good living playing with LEGO bricks. LEGO saw a money making opportunity with catering to these older fans. They tapped the collector market and are making more than they ever could by just selling a toy. Now that exclusive collector piece has made it difficult for fans with a limited budget to keep buying the themes and sets they like.




LEGO Deadpool Questions YouTube Video Monetization Automatic Sensor

This particular Deadpool gripe was more of a comedic swipe at the incompetence of the almighty Google Algorithm. I kept getting my videos flagged as possibly inappropriate. It was more annoying than anything else. I had to submit it for review. Whait for a while. Then it would be approved. I was assuming the word “war” in Star Wars was messing with the key word search, but then I did a stop motion test video of a gun muzzle flash. I just assumed it would get flagged because it had the word gun in it. Nothing happened. At that moment I knew what my next video was going to be about.




LEGO Deadpool Calls YouTube out on their new Partner Program Monetization Requirements

This was the first Deadpool rant video that I was actually angry about the topic. Previously, it was all eye rolls and saying “seriously?” to myself. This policy change had destroyed my channel. I had been slowly building my channel for years. I was finally at the point that I was getting over 10 hours of view time a day. This rule was instituted soon after I had reached that milestone. If you do the math, my daily views were enough to meet the requirements. However, because I had been doing these numbers for only a few months and not a full year I was kicked out of the program. As expected, my views plummeted. I was now down to 3 to 4 hours a day. It took me over a year to regain my lost ground.




LEGO Deadpool Quesions Unikitty Minifigure Series

This would be my last Deadpool rant vidoe. It occured to me that I was getting to personal with these. Instead of just laughing at what was happening, I was actualy angry. Since LEGO is supposed to be fun, I stopped doing them to focus on the positive and things that make me laugh.

That being said, this is probably my favorite of the Deadpool video rant series, because of all the custom LEGO Deadpool minifigures I made for the proposed Deadpool CMF series.



Commentaires


bottom of page